Daily Archives: September 30, 2008

Essentials Blue Intro

This is an initial posting to this new blog to introduce it. Last year while with Robin Lyle at a Vineyard Worship Leaders retreat, I got to hear Dan Wilt speak about “The Elemental Worshipper.”

This was about the roots of worship and addressed the whys of worship in a very quick trip over the landscape as Dan saw it.

He spoke of bringing worship into our everyday, and that’s how I have always felt it should be. So often I see folks who live life in narrow segregated bands and when they get to church, it’s like they “change channels” and now they’re in worship mode. Quite often this only lasts for the music, and they will change channels back for the rest of the gathering. But it’s all worship! Everything we do can be done to God’s glory or to glorify something / someone else. So it’s a continuum. The only thing that changes is the vehicle we are using to express our worship (driving a truck to earn money, speaking with someone on the phone, yes, singing, and even (something I struggle to be worshipful while I do) driving in traffic). These times of our life all contain their own unique opportunity for us to express worship.

So I could very much relate to his view of integrating worship and prayer into everything, but Dan had obviously spent a lot more time working on this perspective. He had some depth from study and finding out what others who believed similarly had seen and written. I felt the loss and lack and immediately wanted to learn more of what he had discovered.

So when this course became a possibility for me to take, I jumped on that opportunity.

Thanks Dan! Thanks Will! Hi fellow students!